

## NEW YORK CITY BOARD OF CORRECTION

# October 13, 2020 PUBLIC MEETING<sup>1</sup> MINUTES

## **ATTENDEES**

#### **MEMBERS PRESENT**

Jennifer Jones Austin, Esq., Chair Robert L. Cohen, M.D., Member Felipe Franco, Member James Perrino, Member Michael J. Regan, Member Steven M. Safyer, M.D., Member Jacqueline Sherman, Esq., Member

Margaret Egan, Executive Director

#### **MEMBERS ABSENT**

Stanley Richards, Vice-Chair

## **DEPARTMENT OF CORRECTION**

Hazel Jennings, Chief of Department Brenda Cooke, Chief of Staff Dana Wax, Deputy Chief of Staff Timothy Farrell, Senior Deputy Commissioner

Heidi Grossman, Deputy Commissioner for Legal Matters/General Counsel Patricia Feeney, Deputy Commissioner for Quality Assurance and Integrity Judy Beale, Deputy Commissioner of Programs and Community Partnerships Francis Torres, Assistant Commissioner of Education and Youth Advocacy Becky Scott, Bureau Chief

Steven Kaiser, Executive Director of Policy and Intergovernmental Affairs Sasha Ginzberg, Executive Director of Borough Based Jail System James Boyd, Assistant Commissioner of Internal Communications Peter Thorne, Deputy Commissioner of Public Information Justin Von Bujdoss, Executive Director of Chaplaincy and Staff Wellness Richard Bush, Senior Correctional Institutional Administrator Nancy Li, Policy Analyst Julia Szendro, Policy Analyst Chelsea Chard, Policy Analyst Danielle De Souza, Press Officer

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> Due to the coronavirus/COVID-19 pandemic, this meeting was conducted virtually.

## **NYC HEALTH + HOSPITALS - CORRECTIONAL HEALTH SERVICES**

Patsy Yang, DrPH, Senior Vice President

Ross MacDonald, MD, Chief Medical Officer, Sr. Assistant Vice President Carlos Castellanos, Chief Operations Officer/Deputy Executive Director Ben Farber, MHA, Chief of Staff

#### **OTHERS IN ATTENDANCE**

David Hansell, Administration for Children's Services (ACS)

Joan Tannenbaum, ACS

Tim Roche, ACS

Rachael Jensen, ACS

Sara Hemmeter, ACS

Jennifer Romelien, ACS

Ashley Smith, ACS

Jennifer Clark, ACS

Kathleen Skowyra, ACS

Charles Parkins, ACS

Keyala Crawford, ACS

Stephanie Gendell, ACS

Kieshore Dennie, NYC Council

Sara Newman, NYC Council

Kieshorne Dennie, NYC Council

Chelsea Davis, NY City Hall

Joseph Thomas, NY City Hall

Steve Petzinger, NY City Hall

Rachel Baker, NY City Hall

Zachary Katznelson, Independent Commission on New York City Criminal Justice

and Incarceration Reform

Jennifer Parish, Urban Justice Center

Victoria Phillips, Jails Action Coalition (JAC)

Candie - Solitary Survivor, JAC

Daniele Gerard, Children's Rights

J. Javier, Children's Rights

Tobin Kassa, Children's Rights

Kayla Simpson, Legal Aid Society Prisoners' Rights Project (LAS)

Mary Lynne Werlwas, LAS

Veronica Vela, LAS

Simone Spirig, Brooklyn Defender Services (BDS)

Irene Cedano, BDS

Kelsey De Avila, BDS

Claudia Forrester, BDS

Harmony Seaburg, BDS

Julia Solomons, Bronx Defenders

Kelly Grace Price, Close Rosie's

Jordyn Rosenthal, Women's Community Justice Association

Brad Maurer, NY County Defender Services

Wendell Walters, Osborne Association

Tanya Krupat, Osborne Association

Kayla James, Vera Institute of Justice

Michelle Duhart, The Moss Group, Inc.

Charlotte Pope, Girls for Gender Equity

Francis Geteles-Shapiro, HALT Solitary Campaign Scott Paltrowitz, HALT Solitary Campaign Anisah Sabur, HALT Solitary Campaign Robert James, Friends of the Island Darren Mack, Freedom Agenda Sarita Daftary-Steel, Freedom Agenda Scout Silverstein, Trans Folx Fighting Eating Disorders Eliel Cruz. Independent Jean B., Independent Kelly Roberts, Independent Je'Leesa Henry, Independent Serena Maszak, Independent Melanie Brown, Independent Jay Sam, Independent Elizabeth Baldwin, Independent Frances Burney, Independent Jan Ransom, NY Times

# Approval of September 14, 2020 Minutes

Board Chair, Jennifer Jones Austin, asked for a motion to approve the draft minutes of the Board's September 14, 2020 meeting. Upon Member Regan moving the item and Dr. Cohen seconding it, the minutes were unanimously approved by all members present, 5-0 (Chair Jones Austin and Members Cohen, Franco, Regan, and Sherman). See this portion of the video recording <a href="https://example.com/hembers/hembers/">hembers</a>.

# Announcements/Updates

Board Chair, Jennifer Jones Austin, provided announcements and updates on the Board's Restrictive Housing Rulemaking and the current fiscal crisis facing the City and the NYC Board of Correction. See this portion of the video recording <a href="here">here</a>.

#### **CHS and DOC COVID-19 Update**

The Board's Executive Director, Margaret Egan, provided background information on the COVID-19 crisis in the jails prior to the CHS and DOC updates. See this portion of the video recording here.

DOC's Chief of Staff, Brenda Cooke, provided DOC's COVID-19 update, available <a href="here">here</a>. Board discussion, including questions and remarks from Members Cohen, Perrino, Regan, Franco, and Sherman, as well as DOC's responses, are available <a href="here">here</a>.

CHS's Senior Vice President, Patsy Yang, provided CHS's COVID-19 update, available here.

#### **Borough-Based Jail Plan**

The Board's Executive Director, Margaret Egan, provided background on the City's efforts to close Rikers Island and implement a borough-based jail plan <a href="here">here</a>.

DOC's Senior Deputy Commissioner, Timothy Farrell, provided DOC's update, available <u>here</u>. Board discussion, including questions from Dr. Cohen and DOC's responses, is available <u>here</u>.

CHS's Senior Vice President, Patsy Yang, provided CHS's update regarding mental health housing <u>here</u>.

# **Horizon Transition**

The Board's Executive Director, Margaret Egan, provided background on the Horizon Juvenile Detention Center's transition from a facility jointly operated by DOC and the Administration for Children's Services (ACS) to one solely operated by ACS. Her update can be found <a href="https://example.com/here/beauty-services/">https://example.com/here/beauty-services/</a>

ACS's Commissioner, David Hansell, provided an update on the Horizon transition, available <u>here</u>. Board discussion, including questions from Dr. Cohen, is available <u>here</u>.

#### **Public Comment**

The Board heard public comment from Darren Mack (Freedom Agenda), Jordyn Rosenthal (Women's Community Justice Association), Kelsey De Avila (BDS), Irene Cedano (BDS), Scout Silverstein (Trans Folx Fighting Eating Disorders), Sarita Daftary-Steel (Freedom Agenda), Anisah Sabur (HALT Solitary Campaign), Claudia Forrester (BDS), Victoria Phillips (JAC), Daniele Gerard (Children's Rights), Julia Solomons (Bronx Defenders), Kayla Simpson (LAS), Candie (Solitary Survivor), Francis Geteles-Shapiro (HALT Solitary Campaign), Brad Maurer (NY County Defender Services), Jennifer Parish (UJC), Tanya Krupat (Osborne Association), Kelly Grace Price (Close Rosie's), and Melanie Brown (Independent).

The public comments portion of this video recording is available <u>here</u>.